Justice Has No Limits

Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations in Atlanta, GA

On Behalf of | May 3, 2021 | Firm News

Injuries unfortunately happen many different ways. Whether it be a car or truck accident, a slip and fall or abuse in a nursing home, the last thing you want to do is wait for the statute of limitations to pass before filing a claim. Learn more about personal injury statutes of limitations with Powell & Associates, the most trusted personal injury lawyers in Georgia.

A Strict Deadline for Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations in Georgia

You have exactly two years from the day the injury occurs to file a claim in the state of Georgia. Even if you wait one more day the claim can be thrown out in court because too much time has passed. Please take note of this and make sure it never happens.

Be sure to document the exact date any injury takes place. What begins as something minor could escalate into a life-changing injury and we want to help you get the justice and compensation you deserve. The only way we can do that is if a case is filed within that two-year window.

Exceptions to the Two-Year Rule for Personal Injury Claims in Georgia

There are a few major exceptions to the two-year statute of limitations in the state of Georgia. One is if the defendant permanently leaves Georgia before a case can be filed. The timetable can then be put on hold until that individual once again resides in the state. That is one point we can fight in court to help you if this does in fact happen and two years have passed.

The next exception is if the injury is suffered by someone under 18 years old. That two-year window can then wait until the individual turns 18 years of age.

The final exception is if an injury is suffered by someone with a mental disability or illness. The personal injury lawyers at Powell & Associates can then fight to extend the time to when the individual is deemed to be of sound mind to file.

Types of Personal Injuries to Document

Any injury big or small must be documented the day it occurs. Don’t just think about something major like a car accident. Even a minor slip or fall now could lead to greater injuries down the line.

Something as simple as writing a note or putting a reminder in your phone can allow us to get the justice you deserve.

Do not ever let someone tell you that the injury you suffered is no big deal. We have heard too many examples of that and unfortunately, too many people let the two years pass before deciding to file a claim. That is the last thing we want — and it is entirely unfair to you.

Contact Experienced Personal Injury Lawyers in Atlanta, GA

The team at Powell & Associates is here and ready to handle any personal injury claim that comes our way. Our personal lawyers have recovered over $150 million over the years for our clients. But the only way we can fight for you is if you make sure to abide by the statute of limitations and file a claim before two years pass. Even if you come to us with a few days to spare we will make sure you get the justice you deserve!